In 1910, President Pastor Alcazar, third President of the town of Capiz (1908-1912), constructed a water tank near the “Municipio” to provide water to the Kapisnon during the dry months. Water flowed from the roof of the two-storey municipal building to the tank.
The “Municipio” was destroyed during World War II, but the water tank which was 11.5 meters in diameter, 6.10 meters in height and with walls 11 inches thick was spared.
After the war, offices were built around the tank completely hiding it from view with only a water spout visible. In 1993, the offices were demolished and for the first time in three decades, the water tank could be seen. The young people, who were not aware of the existing structure, had to be told that originally, it was a water tank.
The old water tank looks quite imposing, like a lady, grown serene, yet gracious and to demolish it would be like cutting the umbilical cord from the past.
However, that water tank had outlived its usefulness because Roxas City now had a modern water system, a legacy from the late Congressman Gerardo “Dinggoy” Roxas, Jr.
The City Government with a group of culture buffs brain-stormed on what to do with the structure and the idea of converting it to a museum was born. Thus, the Roxas City Museum, Ang Panublion, became a reality with Mrs. Ofelia Rendon as its curator.
Ang Panublion, in its initial exhibit, showcased the Kapisnon: how they lived, how they prayed, how they danced, what they ate, what they wore (gowns, jewelry, etc., and how they spent their time.